Home » FUN » Mayan Goddess, Ixchel

Mayan Goddess, Ixchel

IxchelIxchel, is a major Mayan Goddess with a cult following.

Little red hands were imprinted on the walls

Little red hands were imprinted on the walls


The Mayans would travel to her Temple located on the island of Cozumel off the coast of Mexico and pay tribute. She is the Goddess of Fertility and Medicine.
She is written about in the Dresden Codexes from the 11th or 12th Century. But believed to be copied from an even earlier text.
Written on Fig Bark and survived the destroying of the New Religion and the conquerers of Cultures and Lands.

Written on Fig Bark and survived the destroying of the New Religion and the conquerers of Cultures and Lands.


Rediscovered in the 16th Century, and with ongoing research, the glyphs
Dresden Glyphs have been translated and tell a story about religion, astronomy and healing rituals. It is one of four codexes remaining about the Mayan culture. Within the codex it corrects and recorded the movement of the planet Venus. Venus was of importance to the culture along with the Moon and Water. After all she is a Fertility Goddess and with Love, childbirth may come. Venus is often associated with Love. The moon and her phases are likened to the phases of women. Virgin, Maiden and GrandMother/Crone. Ixchel is depicted in the Grandmother stage, a wise woman learned in family and childbirth. Childbirth is associated with water as when we are in the womb. Water slso washes away (heals) and destroys or redefines the shore/land or in a religious context, fate/destiny. The Dresden Codex deals with religion and the prophecies of the Yucatan Mayan people.

The charting of the movement of the Sun, Moon and Venus along with mathematics pretty much accurately correspond to the calendar created by the Mayans.

Is based upon the movements of the planets

Is based upon the movements of the planets


Today, the island of Cozumel is still largely jungle
Thick lush foliage covers the island

Thick lush foliage covers the island


Shorelineimageshoreline2uncultivated shoreline with areas preserved with Mayan Temples.
The entrance to the Temple of Ixchel

The entrance to the Temple of Ixchel

The people were friendly with tourism being the major income for the economy on the Island.

Raised Catholic and learning about other religions along my path in life, I have always kept an open mind to the possibilities.

Written documentation, anthropology and the cosmos have always fascinated me. Traveling and researching teach me and confirm the beliefs I have about my existence.

Thats me doing "Top of the World"  from the movie Titanic on my BDay Cruise.

Thats me doing “Top of the World” from the movie Titanic on my BDay Cruise.


I/We were created by a higher power for a specific purpose.

PS
I forgot to include that while in Cozumel. I felt at home. I guess any Island would also feel comfortable because the water calms me. It soothes the part of my spirit that is restless and unfulfilled. Perhaps one day that particular insanity will be cured. However, in the Temple of Ixchel, I feel a singlular thread of connectedness. Of Mother, healer and nurturer.
I began to feel light and lightheaded. I heard a buzzzing sound similar to lot of bees. Buzzing as one unit, connected with the same purpose protect and feed the Queen Bee. I felt the Earth move. I felt the wind caress my face and heard whispered words of LOVE.
The buzzing turned to murmuring and whispered words filled with compliments that fueled my hubrious ego and fed my soul and started to quench the thirst of my mind and added to liquid of the very vessel of my body. I felt my blood coursing thru my veins and my heart beat strong. As one with the Earth and the Wisdom of Nature. In tune with the cycle of life. I felt Blessed and contentment in the many minutes spent there. I took that feeling with me and keep it close like the treasure it is.

Leave a Reply

